A revised and updated version of
Abraham Kuyper: An Annotated Bibliography 1857-2010 by Tjitze Kuipers (2011)

You can buy a printed edition of this book on the site of the publisher.


Het werk van den Heiligen Geest. Eerste deel. Het werk van den Heiligen Geest voor de kerk in haar geheel.
Amsterdam, J.A. Wormser (Nijmegen, H.C.A. Thieme) 1888. [6], XXX, [2], 265 pp., 26cm.—unbd. ƒ2.50.
Run: 2,000.
Published: June 1888.
Preface dated: Amsterdam, April 10, 1888.
Vol. 2–3, see: 1888.14; 1889.11.
2nd edition, see: 1927.05.
Translation (English), see: 1900.19.
Binding, see: 1889.11.
The title (148 copies) was put up for auction and acquired by J.H. Kok, Kampen, on December 12, 1907.
RKB 107.
ET: The work of the Holy Spirit. Volume one. The work of the Holy Spirit on behalf of the church as a whole.

Het werk van den Heiligen Geest appeared in three volumes. The text of the three volumes is reprinted from biblical-theological studies published in De Heraut from September 2, 1883 to July 4, 1886. These studies appeared weekly, except when superseded by biblical-theological articles or meditations published on the occasion of church holidays and during summer vacations.

In section 1 of the foreword, Kuyper notes that few individual studies of the work of the Holy Spirit have been written. In sections 1–4, he provides a detailed examination of the works of the Puritan John Owen (1616–1683), who wrote three books about the Holy Spirit. Kuyper also includes a seventy-four-item bibliography of Owen’s works and gives an overview in sections 5–7 of other works about the Holy Spirit that have been published since the Reformation. The foreword concludes with a reply to E. Böhl (see 1887.34).

Volume 1 contains thirty-nine articles from the series of Het werk van den Heiligen Geest in De Heraut, no. 297, September 2, 1883–no. 340, June 29, 1884. Subtitles were added to all thirty-nine reprinted articles. In De Heraut the articles are separately numbered within each series. In book form, the articles are numbered sequentially, with the sequences starting afresh at the beginning of each volume.